Baby, It’s Cold Outside!

6 Jan

When I realized that I was hosting the December LUPEC meeting, I couldn’t get past the fact that it’s been cold here in Denver.  Really, really cold.  Sure, it’s that uniquely sunny, crisp cold that only Denver can offer but still.  Cold is cold and I wanted delicious hot cocktails to drown my frostbitten holiday cheer.  I turned to the trusty LUPEC bible, The Playboy Bartender’s Guide, for some tasty choices and came up with Hot Buttered Rum, Mexican Coffee, and, the sleeper hit of the meeting, the Snowplow.

Now, we here at LUPEC routinely risk our taste buds in the pursuit of those delicious, forgotten cocktails of bygone days.  As a hostess, I need to balance the potential tastiness of a cocktail with it’s adherence to my chosen theme (although it occurs to me that maybe the other ladies have a better system for their meetings….).  It’s a delicate balance to strike and my approach has, historically, resulted in some serious taste bud damage.  Someday, I’ll host a meeting and actually try the cocktails beforehand.  Maybe.  The Snowplow, however, is that rare exception where a cocktail chosen for it’s name is dangerously tasty as well as thematic.  In other words, I got damn lucky.

Granted, with a hot chocolate base, I wasn’t exactly shocked by requests for seconds!

Snowplow:

8 oz Hot chocolate

Our Snowplow was way more delicious!

1 oz Irish Creme

1 oz Malibu rum

1/2 oz Creme de Cacao

Whipped cream

Cinnamon

Add the booze to the hot chocolate, stir, and top with whipped cream and cinnamon.  Enjoy! We certainly did!

One Response to “Baby, It’s Cold Outside!”

  1. Grasshopper January 10, 2009 at 5:45 am #

    Oh, this one was so delicious. I actually might have to buy a little thing of Malibu just so I can recreate it!

Leave a Reply

