Member of the Month: Spy Girl

1 Nov

Spy Girl organizes bottles at Stranahan's

Name: Tara

LUPEC name: Spy Girl

LUPEC Denver role: Vice President, Chapter 2

How long have you been in LUPEC Denver?

Two years

Why do you love being a LUPEC Denver girl?

I really enjoy the camaraderie that LUPEC offers and who doesn’t love sitting around drinking a delicious cocktail! I love that we focus our efforts on helping other women but that our events have a sense of humor. At the end of the day I feel like I’ve made a small impact in someone’s life and that is an incredibly rewarding feeling.

What’s your favorite cocktail?

Favorite cocktail…that’s a hard one!  I’ve been drinking the heck out of a bottle of Leopold Brothers Blackberry Liqueur mixed with a little club soda.  We recently toured their facility and I’m madly in love with everything that they make!  I also have a rapidly disappearing bottle of Jackelope Gin that makes an amazing Gimlet.

What’s you favorite Denver bar?

I love bars that make great classic cocktails as well as ones with a new twist. Osteria Marco has an amazing ever changing cocktail menu and I love that every time I go its always different!

If you could be a piece of barware, what would you be?

A beer bong because I never want to take myself too seriously.

What’s your favorite garnish?

I’m a fan of any edible garnish…I love a good blue cheese stuffed olive or a pickled onion….I need snacks people.

What are you reading/watching/listening to?

I’m always reading Cooks Illustrated and Queen is a regular in my house.  I love love love The United States of Tara (not just because we have the same name) as well as The Office.

What’s your recipe?

Spy Girl
Glassware: Cocktail
Ingredients:

  • 6 ice cubes
  • 2 oz grapefruit juice
  • 2 oz Bombay Sapphire
  • 2 oz Lillet Blanc
  • 2 splashes Campari
  • 2 splashes sweet vermouth
  • 2 spirals grapefruit peel

To serve: Chill two 6oz cocktail classes. Fill cocktail shaker with ice and add all the
ingredients except the garnish. Shake vigorously to blend and chill.  Strain the mixture
evenly between the glasses and drape a grapefruit spiral over each rim.

Leave a Reply

