Member of the Month: Cuba Libre

1 Dec

Name: GerRee

Cuba Libre

LUPEC name: Cuba Libre

LUPEC Denver role: Public Relations, Chapter 1

How long have you been in LUPEC Denver?

Long enough that I suddenly can’t recall.

Why do you love being a LUPEC Denver girl?

I love being a part of a group that raises money for great organizations. And I love that it’s a group devoted to the genteel art of socializing, but on our own terms. In fact, I wrote about just that!

What’s your favorite cocktail?

In the winter, probably a brandy Old Fashioned. In the warmer months, it’s hard to beat a good sangria or drinks that play with the lime/mint combo.

What’s you favorite Denver bar?

It’s lame to answer this way, but it really depends on what I’m in the mood for. Great patio? Brother’s. Awesome classic cocktail selection? Steuben’s or Cruise Room. Beer me? 3 Kings. Rose me? P.S. Lounge. Steak me? LoHi Steakbar. Steak me in an ironic way? Club 404.

If you could be a piece of barware, what would you be?

Heh. The old school juicer that attaches to the bar. That thing is badass.

What’s your favorite garnish?

lime and mint

What are you reading/watching/listening to?

Nothing at the moment! I’m busy getting volunteers together for the 11th annual Underground Music Showcase! (www.theums.com/volunteer) Woot! Well, I guess that’s not exactly true. I’m Tivoing the heck outta some ‘So You Think You Can Dance.’ Gawd, I love that show.

What’s your recipe?

Cuba Libre
Glassware: Highball or Collins
Ingredients:

  • 2 oz. Light Rum
  • Coca-Cola
  • Lime wedge

To Serve: Pour rum into an highball glass filled with ice. Top with cola and juice from lime wedge. Garnish with lime wedge.
About: The Cuba Libre (“Free Cuba”) was originated after the Spanish-American War by a group of American soldiers to toast the freedom of Cuba.

Leave a Reply

